SICCI elects new Board

SICCI Board members during a similar event held last year (2016).

Members of the Solomon Islands Chamber of Commerce & Industry (SICCI) have elected a new Board for 2017 – 2018 during the Chamber’s 40th Anniversary and Annual General Meeting (AGM) on this week.

The new Board is led by Jay Bartlett, Director of Hatanga Limited who returned unopposed marking his third consecutive term as the SICCI Board Chair. Katalaini Ziru, Director of Law Corporation Pty Limited also returned unopposed as the Board Vice Chair.

The other six SICCI Board Members are: Sebastian Ilala, Managing Director of BJS Agencies, Lilly Lomulo, Human Resources Manager of Solomon Islands Tobacco Company, David Quan, Managing Director of Quan Chee Corporation, Frank Wickham, General Manager of National Fisheries Development, Jan Arie Smit, General Manager of Solomon Breweries and Craig Gibsone, General Manager of GPPOL.

Chamber members cast their ballots

Eight members are elected to the Board every year during the AGM, and another three co-opted – meaning three more members will join via appointment by the elected Board.

The SICCI Board of directors is made up of 11 members.

The occasion recorded the biggest turnout of an AGM, with over a hundred members at the Heritage Park Hotel.

Bartlett opened the occasion by highlighting the work, progress and challenges faced by the Chamber over the past 12 months.

CEO Dennis Meone delivered a presentation on the 2017 Business Plan for the Chamber.

The Chamber’s 2016 Financial Statement was presented to members by Board Treasurer, Jan Arie Smit.